There is a lot of positivity in this world.

Vic Verdonck
4 min readJan 8, 2021

Negativity is just louder.

What happened?
At some point in my career, I was responsible for a customer care team. Because of our services in IT, the number of applicants for the jobs were limited. We needed experienced people in IT, sales, and talking to angry customers. As a cherry on top, the people working in my team would have been empathic and problem-solving. The truth is we were glad that we had the right number of people to keep up with support.

One day we had an opening. We asked the usual channels to get applicants and got about 12. At that point, the company I was working for was taken over by one of the largest competitors. Our new owner had a strategy of using our onboarding strategy to keep up with the quota. Our latest hire had to be a hire to increase these quotas.

The Challenge
So, my reality was that I couldn’t hire the best candidate. I was forced to hire someone because of company policy. Even though I resisted and had good arguments for doing these quotas compensating hirings in other departments, they hired someone themselves.

I decided I wasn’t going to give the new hire a hard time. It wasn’t her fault to be in this situation. The woman was disabled. For the job, this wasn’t a problem.

--

--

Vic Verdonck

I explain how relationships work. How to tell people what you want to find out who will give you what you need.